★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Meet History
7th Annual NYSPHSAA Intersectional Wrestling Championships
March 7, 1969 - March 8, 1969 @ Clark Gym, RIT (Rochester, New York)
Powered by matburn®


Seventh Annual Intersectional Wrestling Tournament
Official program from the 1969 NYSPHSAA intersectional wrestling tourney held at RIT's George Clark gymnasium. Click for larger image.



Albion, Amherst, Amityville, Arcade (Pioneer), AuSable Valley, Baldwinsville, Beekmantown, Bellmore JFK, Brentwood, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake, Caledonia-Mumford, Canandaigua, Colonie, Columbia, Corning West, Cortland, East Irondequoit Eastridge, East Rochester, Ellenburg, Elmira Free Academy, Elmira Southside, Farmingdale, Freeport, Guilderland, Harpursville, Hastings, Homer, Horace Greeley, Indian River, Irondequoit, Island Trees, Ithaca, Kenmore East, Lindenhurst, Livonia, Maryvale, Massapequa, Mepham, Middletown, Mount Vernon, New Hartford, Newburgh, Niagara Falls, Niagara Wheatfield, Niskayuna, North Babylon, North Syracuse, Norwich, Owego, Pearl River, Peekskill, Pelham, Peru, Pioneer, Pittsford, Port Chester, Port Jefferson, Port Jervis, Queensbury, Riverhead, Roy C. Ketcham (Wappinger Falls), Rush-Henrietta, Rye, Rye Neck, Scotia-Glenville, Sherburne-Earlville, Sidney, Skaneateles, Sleepy Hollow, Smithtown, South Glens Falls, Spencerport, Suffern, Syosset, Tonawanda, Union-Endicott, Valley Stream Central, Walt Whitman, Walton, Wantagh, Ward Melville, Watertown, West Genesee, West Islip, Westlake, White Plains, Windsor

Region Final

Section IV 80, Section XI 77, Section VIII 68, Section V 55, Section III 44, Section IX 41, Section II 22, Section VI 20, Section I 15, Section VII 8

Championship Final (1st)

 95  Tom Campanelli (Wantagh/Section VIII) > Robbi Cole (Sidney/Section IV) decision 8-2
103  Lee Klepper (Suffern/Section IX) > Ivan Gonzalez (Brentwood/Section XI) decision 10-7
112  Steven Weiss (Lindenhurst/Section XI) > Joe Pitts (SG/Section II) fall 1:44
120  Randy Payne (Sidney/Section IV) > John Scanlon (PR/Section IX) decision 9-4
127  Scott Ross (Ithaca/Section IV) > Art Trovei (PJ/Section IX) decision 2-0
133  Joe Russo (WI/Section XI) > Bill Henaghan (IT/Section VIII) fall 5:31
138  John Henning (Wantagh/Section VIII) > Tony Backus (Livonia/Section V) decision 10-2
145  Jerry Siefert (SE/Section III) > John Allen (Windsor/Section IV) decision 13-5
154  Bill Proios (PJ/Section XI) > Mike Duffy (ER/Section V) judge's decision 2-2
165  Ron Tojdowski (Arcade (Pioneer)/Section V) > Bill Schmidt (BJFK/Section VIII) decision 5-4
175  Ernie DiBella (Pittsford/Section V) > Ed Carlsson (VSC/Section VIII) decision 7-1
215  Bill McCauley (Skaneateles/Section III) > Jesse Holiday (Lindenhurst/Section XI) fall 5:51
250  Gary Robinson (ES/Section IV) > Keith Rose (Watertown/Section III) decision 3-1

Consolation Final (3rd)

 95  Jim Verrastro (Tonawanda/Section VI) > Jack Spates (Smithtown/Section XI) fall 1:28
103  Bob Pina (Freeport/Section VIII) > Dave Kopalow (UE/Section IV) decision 5-2
112  Tom McCarthy (Ithaca/Section IV) > Bruce Biondi (Farmingdale/Section VIII) decision 9-3
120  Barry Casper (RN/Section I) > Jim Guizzotti (Maryvale/Section VI) decision 9-2
127  Steve Greene (HG/Section I) > Ed Halleran (NB/Section XI) decision 12-11
133  Doug Bryce (Harpursville/Section IV) > Bill Anderson (Suffern/Section IX) decision 2-0
138  Jerry McTamney (Owego/Section IV) > Bob Bender (Brentwood/Section XI) fall 3:15
145  Kevin McClintock (Suffern/Section IX) > Chet Sanders (Massapequa/Section VIII) decision 4-2 (1OT)
154  Richard Smith (BJFK/Section VIII) > Marty Wingenbach (Homer/Section IV) decision 4-0
165  Tom Darnley (NW/Section VI) > Dick Hatten (Baldwinsville/Section III) decision 8-3
175  Jim Townsley (Beekmantown/Section VII) > Harold Neale (Walton/Section IV) decision 6-2
215  Richard Zweig (Irondequoit/Section V) > Walt Sustek (SG/Section II) decision 8-4
250  Brad Coulter (BHBL/Section II) > George Deitrick (CW/Section V) decision 15-9

Championship Semifinals

 95  Tom Campanelli (Wantagh/Section VIII) > Jack Spates (Smithtown/Section XI) decision 6-4
 95  Robbi Cole (Sidney/Section IV) > Jim Verrastro (Tonawanda/Section VI) decision 5-4
103  Ivan Gonzalez (Brentwood/Section XI) > Bob Pina (Freeport/Section VIII) decision 7-6
103  Lee Klepper (Suffern/Section IX) > Dave Kopalow (UE/Section IV) decision 7-5
112  Steven Weiss (Lindenhurst/Section XI) > Bruce Biondi (Farmingdale/Section VIII) decision 5-1
112  Joe Pitts (SG/Section II) > Tom McCarthy (Ithaca/Section IV) fall 1:44
120  John Scanlon (PR/Section IX) > Barry Casper (RN/Section I) fall
120  Randy Payne (Sidney/Section IV) > Jim Guizzotti (Maryvale/Section VI) decision 9-7
127  Art Trovei (PJ/Section IX) > Steve Greene (HG/Section I) decision 3-2
127  Scott Ross (Ithaca/Section IV) > Ed Halleran (NB/Section XI) decision 8-5
133  Bill Henaghan (IT/Section VIII) > Bill Anderson (Suffern/Section IX) decision 7-4
133  Joe Russo (WI/Section XI) > Doug Bryce (Harpursville/Section IV) decision 5-2
138  John Henning (Wantagh/Section VIII) > Bob Bender (Brentwood/Section XI) decision 6-4
138  Tony Backus (Livonia/Section V) > Jerry McTamney (Owego/Section IV) decision 5-4
145  Jerry Siefert (SE/Section III) > Chet Sanders (Massapequa/Section VIII) decision 9-2
145  John Allen (Windsor/Section IV) > Kevin McClintock (Suffern/Section IX) decision 7-2
154  Bill Proios (PJ/Section XI) > Richard Smith (BJFK/Section VIII) decision 5-1
154  Mike Duffy (ER/Section V) > Marty Wingenbach (Homer/Section IV) decision 7-2
165  Bill Schmidt (BJFK/Section VIII) > Dick Hatten (Baldwinsville/Section III) decision 3-1
165  Ron Tojdowski (Arcade (Pioneer)/Section V) > Tom Darnley (NW/Section VI) decision 5-0
175  Ed Carlsson (VSC/Section VIII) > Jim Townsley (Beekmantown/Section VII) decision 2-1
175  Ernie DiBella (Pittsford/Section V) > Harold Neale (Walton/Section IV) fall
215  Bill McCauley (Skaneateles/Section III) > Walt Sustek (SG/Section II) fall
215  Jesse Holiday (Lindenhurst/Section XI) > Richard Zweig (Irondequoit/Section V) fall
250  Keith Rose (Watertown/Section III) > Brad Coulter (BHBL/Section II)
250  Gary Robinson (ES/Section IV) > George Deitrick (CW/Section V)


Comments (7th Annual NYSPHSAA Intersectional Wrestling Championships)